Gannawarra Shire Council electoral structure review

Submissions closed on 05 April 2023, 05:00 PM

Ward Boundaries (002).JPG

An electoral representation advisory panel spent early 2023 reviewing the electoral structure of Gannawarra Shire Council and is seeking your input.

The Local Government Act 2020 (the Act) introduced several changes, including to the electoral structures local councils must have. Throughout 2023–24, 39 Victorian local councils will undergo electoral structure or ward boundary reviews to ensure they comply with the Act.

Using feedback provided via an initial investigation period held during late January and mid-February 2023, the independent electoral representation advisory panel has provided two models for residents to consider:

  • An unsubdivided electoral structure with 7 councillors; and
  • A subdivided electoral structure with a total of 6 councillors, 2 wards (Wandella and Gunbower, with the Pyramid Creek and Loddon River north of Kerang as the ward boundary) and 3 councillors per ward.


How residents had their say

Residents were able to provide feedback regarding the two proposals by completing a submission online. 

Future steps

The panel presented its final recommendation to the Minister for Local Government on 10 May 2023. If the Minister accepts the final recommendation, any changes to the structure for Gannawarra Shire Council will apply at the October 2024 local council elections.