Vote now for the 2022 National Awards for Local Government

Published on 04 August 2022

Random Facebook designs (4).png

Fifteen Gannawarra Shire Council initiatives are in the running to be recognised during the 2022 National Awards for Local Government.

Voting is now open for the publicly-decided awards, which are an annual celebration of local government achievements across Australia.

“It is an honour for Council to again be recognised in the National Awards for Local Government, with initiatives such as our creative arts program, ReSpark the Park initiative and NDIS services either winning categories, receiving high commendations or shortlisted as finalists in previous years,” Council Chief Executive Officer, Tom O’Reilly said.

Council-led initiatives that are in the running for the 2022 awards include:

  • Transformative infrastructure projects, including Koondrook Retreat, Cohuna Beach, flood mitigation efforts, construction of all abilities play spaces, female friendly facility improvements at recreational venues and traffic calming measures at Cohuna;
  • Programs to support the community, including the Drought Communities Programme and efforts to reconnect the community post-COVID;
  • Key services, including NDIS;
  • Building partnerships with our indigenous community, specifically through the development of a Welcome to Country Video;
  • Advocacy efforts, including efforts to support the development of KerangLink and the implementation of The ART of the Gannawarra;
  • Community efforts to develop the Gannwarra Arts Trail; and
  • Employment programs and opportunities.

“These nominations are testament to the work our dedicated team undertake to make the Gannawarra a great place to live and work,” Mr O’Reilly said.

“The public vote process also promotes Council’s work nationally against the 537 local councils across Australia, which in turn puts the Gannawarra on the national map.”

Voting can be completed online by visiting, registering an account and selecting which project should win an award in each of the 11 categories.

“With award winners to be announced in October, there is limited time to help the Gannawarra receive recognition nationally,” Mr O’Reilly said.

Tagged as: