2022 Australian of the Year Exhibition

Next date: Sunday, 29 May 2022 | 03:00 AM to Monday, 18 July 2022 | 05:00 PM

AOTY 2022_Facebook Newsfeed_1200 x 628px_COMBO_TRAVELLING.jpg

Kerang’s Sir John Gorton Library will host the 2022 Australian of the Year exhibition, which opens on Wednesday, 11 May and runs to Monday, 18 July.

The National Museum of Australia-curated and National Australia Day Council-supported exhibition showcases the state and territory recipients of the 2022 Australian of the Year Awards, including national winner, Dylan Alcott AO.

The exhibition enables visitors to learn about the lives, aspirations and experiences of the state and territory recipients:

  • Athlete and ability advocate, Dylan Alcott AO (Victoria)
  • Small Steps 4 Hannah founders, Sue and Lloyd Clarke (Queensland)
  • Documentary filmmaker and journalist, Craig Leeson (Tasmania)
  • Aboriginal Justice Unit Director, Leanne Liddle (Northern Territory)
  • Cyber safety educator and campaigner, Paul Litherland (Western Australia)
  • Vaccination researcher, Professor Helen Marshall AM (South Australia)
  • Basketballer and Indigenous rights activist, Patrick (Patty) Mills AM (Australian Capital Territory)
  • Materials scientist, engineer and innovator, Professor Veena Sahajwalla (New South Wales)

Each recipient has provided an object of importance, ranging from a tennis racquet used by Dylan Alcott AO at the Tokyo Paralympics to the camera Craig Leeson used to film his award-winning feature-length documentary, A Plastic Ocean.





  • Wednesday, 11 May 2022 | 10:00 AM - Monday, 18 July 2022 | 05:00 PM


Sir John Gorton Library, 2 Shadforth Street, Kerang 3579  View Map

Google Map

Add to Calendar

Fields marked as 'Required' must be completed

Email Address*(Required)

Enter your email address or your friend's email addresses all separated by commas.