

Unscheduled Council Meeting

MINUTES

9:00am
Virtual via Zoom

Order Of Business

1	Acknowledgement of Country		3
2	Opening Declaration		3
3	Apologies		
4	Declaration of Conflict of Interest		
5	Temporary Chair		
6	Business Reports for Decision		
	6.1	Outgoing Mayoral Address	3
	6.2	Mayoral Term - 2022/2023	4
	6.3	Election of Mayor - 2022/2023	5
	6.4	Election of Deputy Mayor - 2022/2023	7
	6.5	Incoming Mayoral Address	7

MINUTES OF GANNAWARRA SHIRE COUNCIL UNSCHEDULED COUNCIL MEETING HELD VIRTUALLY VIA ZOOM ON MONDAY, 7 NOVEMBER 2022 AT 9:00AM

PRESENT: Cr Charlie Gillingham Avoca Ward

Cr Jane Ogden Patchell Ward
Cr Kelvin Burt Patchell Ward
Cr Travis Collier Patchell Ward
Cr Ross Stanton Murray Ward
Cr Garner Smith Yarran Ward
Cr Keith Link Yarran Ward

IN ATTENDANCE: Acting Chief Executive Officer

Acting Manager Governance

The Acting Chief Executive Officer chaired the meeting at this stage in accordance with Section 25 of the Local Government Act 2020 (the Act).

1 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The Gannawarra Welcome to Country video was played as the Acknowledgement of Country.

2 OPENING DECLARATION

The Councillors read the Opening Declaration.

3 APOLOGIES

Nil

4 DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST

In accordance with Section 129(g) of the Local Government Act 2020 and Regulation 7 of the Local Government (Governance and Integrity) Regulations 2020, a Councillor does not have a conflict of interest if the matter relates to the nomination of a Councillor for the election to the office of Mayor or Deputy Mayor, or the election of a Councillor to the office of Mayor or Deputy Mayor.

5 TEMPORARY CHAIR

Section 25 of the *Local Government Act 2020* (the Act) states that the election of the Mayor must be chaired by the Chief Executive Officer and conducted in accordance with the Governance Rules. Section 26 of the Act states that before the election of the Mayor, a Council must determine by resolution whether the Mayor is to be elected for a 1 year or a 2 year term. Once elected, the Mayor will take the Chair for the remainder of the meeting.

6 BUSINESS REPORTS FOR DECISION

6.1 OUTGOING MAYORAL ADDRESS

Cr Gillingham provided an overview of his year as the 2021/2022 Mayor.

6.2 MAYORAL TERM - 2022/2023

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

In accordance with Section 26 of the *Local Government Act 2020* (the Act) and Rule 6 of Council's Governance Rules, before the election of the Mayor, Council must determine by resolution whether the Mayor is to be elected for a 1 year or a 2 year term.

RESOLUTION

Moved: Cr Kelvin Burt Seconded: Cr Keith Link

That Council confirms that the Mayoral term for 2022/2023 be for a period of one year.

CARRIED

6.3 **ELECTION OF MAYOR - 2022/2023**

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

The *Local Government Act 2020* (the Act) and Rule 6 of Council's Governance Rules require a Mayor to be elected on a day that is as close to the end of the current Mayor's term as is reasonably practicable. At a Council meeting on 8 November 2021, Cr Gillingham was elected Mayor for a one year term.

The process for the election of the Mayor is detailed in the Act and Council's Governance Rules.

Once elected, the Mayor will take the chair for the remainder of the meeting.

The Acting Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the position of Mayor.

Cr Ogden nominated herself for the position of Mayor, Cr Burt seconded the nomination.

Cr Stanton nominated Cr Gillingham for the position of Mayor, Cr Collier seconded the nomination.

Cr Link nominated Cr Smith for the position of Mayor, Cr Smith seconded the nomination.

Cr Smith nominated Cr Link for the position of Mayor, Cr Link seconded the nomination.

Cr Ogden addressed the Council.

Cr Gillingham addressed the Council.

Cr Smith addressed the Council.

Cr Link addressed the Council.

Voting

The Acting Chief Executive Officer called for a show of hands for each candidate.

The votes recorded for each were:

Cr Ogden – Two votes
Cr Gillingham – Three votes
Cr Smith – One vote
Cr Link – One vote

With no candidate having achieved an absolute majority, the Acting Chief Executive Officer held a lot under clause 7(e) and (f) of the Gannawarra Shire Council Governance Rules.

Having the least amount of votes cast, the names of Cr Smith and Cr Link were placed into the lot with Cr Link's name drawn and thus eliminated.

The Acting Chief Executive Officer called for a show of hands for each of the remaining three candidates.

The votes recorded for each were:

Cr Ogden – Two votes Cr Gillingham – Three votes Cr Smith – Two votes

With no candidate having achieved an absolute majority, the Acting Chief Executive Officer held a lot under clause 7(e) and (f) of the Gannawarra Shire Council Governance Rules.

Having the least amount of votes cast, the names of Cr Ogden and Cr Smith were placed into the lot with Cr Ogden's name drawn and thus eliminated.

The Acting Chief Executive Officer called for a show of hands for each of the remaining two candidates.

The votes recorded for each were:

Cr Gillingham – Four votes Cr Smith – Two votes

Receiving the absolute majority of votes, the Acting Chief Executive Officer declared Cr Gillingham, Mayor of the Gannawarra Shire Council for 2022/2023.

The Acting Chief Executive Officer vacated the Chair and Cr Gillingham took the Chair as Mayor.

6.4 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR - 2022/2023

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

The *Local Government Act* 2020 (the Act) states that a Council may establish an office of Deputy Mayor to perform the role of the Mayor, and exercise any of the powers of the Mayor in certain circumstances. At a Council meeting on 8 November 2020, Cr Ogden was elected Deputy Mayor for a one year term.

The process for the election of the Deputy Mayor is detailed in the Act and Council's Governance Rules.

The Mayor called for nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor.

Cr Collier nominated Cr Ogden for the position of Deputy Mayor, Cr Stanton seconded the nomination.

Cr Link nominated himself for the position of Deputy Mayor, Cr Smith seconded the nomination.

Cr Ogden addressed the Council.

Cr Link addressed the Council.

Voting

The Mayor called for a show of hands for each candidate.

The votes recorded for each were:

Cr Ogden – Five votes Cr Link – Zero votes

Receiving the absolute majority of votes, the Mayor declared Cr Ogden, Deputy Mayor of the Gannawarra Shire Council for 2022/2023.

6.5 INCOMING MAYORAL ADDRESS

Cr Gillingham, 2022/2023 Mayor addressed the meeting on the year ahead.

The Meeting closed at 9:38am.

The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at the Ordinary Meeting of the Gannawarra Shire Council held on 16 November 2022.

Cr Charlie Gillingham - Mayor

CHAIR