

## **Special Council Meeting**

## **MINUTES**

9:00am
Council Chambers
Kerang

### **Order Of Business**

1	Acknow	rledgement of Country	.3
2	Opening Declaration		3
3	Apologies		.3
4	Busines	s Reports for Decision	.3
	4.1	Appointment of Temporary Chair	.3
	4.2	Declaration of Conflict of Interest	. 4
	4.3	Outgoing Mayoral Speech	. 4
	4.4	Election of Mayor - 2019/2020	. 4
	4.5	Flection of Denuty Mayor - 2019/2020	5

# MINUTES OF GANNAWARRA SHIRE COUNCIL SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, KERANG ON MONDAY, 11 NOVEMBER 2019 AT 9:00AM

PRESENT:

Cr Lorraine Learmonth
Cr Sonia Wright
Cr Steven Tasker
Cr Charlie Gillingham
Cr Mark Arians
Cr Jodie Basile
Cr Brian Gibson

Yarran Ward
Yarran Ward
Yarran Ward
Patran Ward
Avoca Ward
Avoca Ward
Patchell Ward
Patchell Ward

IN ATTENDANCE: Tom O'Reilly Chief Executive Officer

Lisa Clue Manager Governance

Gallery: 20

Media: 0

#### 1 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

Tom O'Reilly, Chief Executive Officer acknowledged the Traditional Custodians of the land, and paid his respect to elders both past and present.

#### 2 OPENING DECLARATION

The Councillors read the Opening Declaration.

#### 3 APOLOGIES

Nil

#### 4 BUSINESS REPORTS FOR DECISION

#### 4.1 APPOINTMENT OF TEMPORARY CHAIR

#### **RESOLUTION**

Moved: Cr Jodie Basile Seconded: Cr Steven Tasker

That Cr Gibson act as Temporary Chair to oversee nominations for the Election of the Mayor.

**CARRIED** 

Cr Gibson took the Chair.

#### 4.2 DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

Under section 79C of the *Local Government Act 1989* a Councillor does not have a conflict of interest if the matter relates to the election of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

#### 4.3 OUTGOING MAYORAL SPEECH

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

The 2018/2019 Mayor provided an overview of the year as the Mayor.

#### **RESOLUTION**

Moved: Cr Charlie Gillingham Seconded: Cr Steven Tasker

That Council note the report of Cr Lorraine Learmonth, Mayor 2018/2019.

**CARRIED** 

#### 4.4 ELECTION OF MAYOR - 2019/2020

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

This report outlines the process and statutory requirements for the election of Mayor. The election of Mayor will take place as part of this report.

The temporary Chair, Cr Gibson called for nominations for the position of Mayor.

Cr Tasker nominated Cr Learmonth for the position of Mayor, Cr Basile seconded the nomination. Cr Learmonth accepted the nomination.

Cr Arians nominated Cr Wright for the position of Mayor, Cr Gilingham seconded the nomination. Cr Wright declined the nomination.

As there were no other nominations, the temporary Chair, Cr Gibson declared Cr Learmonth Mayor of the Gannawarra Shire Council for 2019/2020 and invited Mayor Learmonth to come forward to receive the Mayoral Chains.

Temporary Chair, Cr Gibson vacated the chair and Cr Learmonth took the Chair as Mayor.

Mayor Learmonth gave the Incoming Mayoral Speech.

#### 4.5 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR - 2019/2020

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

If the Council resolves to appoint a Deputy Mayor, nominations will be sought, and will require a nominator and a seconder.

The Mayor called for nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor.

Cr Tasker nominated Cr Gillingham for the position of Deputy Mayor, Cr Gibson seconded the nomination.

Cr Gillingham accepted the nomination.

As there were no other nominations, the Mayor declared Cr Gillingham Deputy Mayor for the Gannawarra Shire Council for 2019/2020.

The Meeting closed at 9.11 am.

The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at the Ordinary Meeting of the Gannawarra Shire Council held on 20 November 2019.

Cr Lorraine Learmonth - Mayor
CHAIRPERSON