Gannawarra takes out Premier’s Sustainability Award

Published on 12 October 2018

Sustainability Awards (1 of 1).JPG

Gannawarra takes out Premier’s Sustainability Award

Media Release

Pictured: Director Infrastructure Services Geoff Rollinson, CEO Tom O’Reilly, Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Lily D’Ambrosio, Manger Economic Development and Tourism Roger Griffiths and Manager Assets and Design Brent Heitbaum at awards ceremony.
The Victorian Government and the Premier of Victoria last night announced at a ceremony in Melbourne the winners of the 2018 Premier’s Sustainability Awards.

CEO Tom O’Reilly said Gannawarra Shire Council is honoured to be named the winner of the Premier’s Regional Recognition Award.

“The award which was personally selected by the Victorian Premier, Daniel Andrews recognises Councils contribution to sustainability initiatives in regional Victoria,” explained Mr O’Reilly.

“A key project is Gannawarra Shire’s first large scale solar farm and battery storage which could inspire the development of further creative projects that will not only transform the municipality, but provide a high level of financial and environmental sustainability,” added Mr O’Reilly .

Manager Economic Development and Tourism Roger Griffiths who has been pursuing the development of the solar industry in the Gannawarra Shire over many years said Gannawarra is leading the way in sustainable innovation and practices.

“The Gannawarra Shire has taken a strategic approach to identifying future directions for the local economy around the platforms of nature based tourism, renewable energy and innovative agriculture, “ explained Mr Griffiths.

“The environment features strongly as a base for growth of the Gannawarra brand and this award is recognition of Council’s strategic commitment to renewable energy and diversifying the Gannawarra economy.”


Date: 12 October 2018
Contact: Communications Officer
Phone: 0409 616 627 between 8.30am and 5pm Monday to Friday.


Tagged as: