Functions and decision-making powers

Gannawarra Shire Council is constituted under The Local Government Act 1989. Under the Act, local government performs the functions and exercises the powers conferred by or under the Act and any other Act for the peace, order and good government of their municipal districts. Council’s objectives are:

  1. to promote the social, economic and environmental viability and sustainability of the municipal district;
  2. to ensure that resources are used efficiently and effectively and services are provided in accordance with the Best Value Principles to best meet the needs of the local community;
  3. to improve the overall quality of life of people in the local community;
  4. to promote appropriate business and employment opportunities;
  5. to ensure that services and facilities provided by the Council are accessible and equitable;
  6. to ensure the equitable imposition of rates and charges;
  7. to ensure transparency and accountability in Council decision making.