Councillors and wards


Gannawarra Shire Council covers approximately 3,735 square kilometres and is separated into four wards. Each ward is a different size, has varying numbers of people and has different levels of infrastructure.

Seven Councillors make up Council - three for the Patchell Ward; two for the Yarran Ward; and single representatives for the Avoca and Murray wards.

Avoca Ward

Towns/districts: Benjeroop, Lalbert, Lake Charm, Mystic Park, Quambatook


Cr Charlie Gillingham


Phone: 0457 719 874


First elected: October 2016


Charlie has lived in the area for more than 50 years and operates a family farm at Lake Charm. 

Charlie has a current interest in local environmental, health, irrigation, social and sporting groups. 

Charlie believes that the area we live in is very dynamic and has huge potential for innovative agricultural pursuits, further tourism opportunities, new industry, renewable energy and greater residential development around our lakes and waterways. 

With a reinvigorated Council, Charlie is looking forward to working with the Councillors and the community for the benefit of the whole shire.  He believes that with a commonsense approach, these goals can be achieved and we can continue to make the Gannawarra Shire a fantastic place for all.

Murray Ward

Towns/districts: Koondrook, Murrabit


Cr Ross Stanton

Phone: 0417 515 769


First elected: October 2020

Patchell Ward 

Towns/districts: Kerang, Macorna, Tragowel


Cr Kelvin Burt

Phone: 0407 319 414


First elected: October 2020





Cr Travis Collier

Phone: 0433 269 577


First elected: October 2020


Since moving to Kerang in 2011, Travis has been an active member of the community in a variety of different roles. Travis is currently president of the Kerang Technical High School Council and Murrabit Netball Club, as well as involved with the Murrabit Tennis Club, Kerang-Swan Hill Rams AFL Masters football team, Rotary Club of Kerang and the Murrabit Advancement Association.

Travis is looking forward to working alongside his fellow Councillors to develop a strategic plan that makes our Shire a destination for tourists and businesses alike.


Cr Jane Ogden

Phone: 0476 786 051


First elected: October 2020

Jane has lived in Kerang since 2006 and has worked for Gannawarra Shire Council in various roles such as Coordinator Community Engagement, Grants and Community Development Officer. Jane has also co-owned a small business in Kerang and coordinated a seven-year community drought support project out of Barham for NSW and Victorian small towns.

With the help of her fellow Councillors, council staff and our Gannawarra communities, Jane looks forward to using her skills and experience to create an agreed upon vision for the mutual benefit of the people of the Gannawarra Shire through the development of the Council Plan 2021-2024.

Yarran Ward

Towns/districts: Cohuna, Leitchville


Cr Keith Link

Phone: 0427 564 138


First elected: October 2020


Cr Garner Smith

Deputy Mayor

Phone: 0418 871 054


First elected: October 2020