

Wednesday, 8 November 2017
9.00am
Council Chambers
Kerang

# **MINUTES**

**Special Council Meeting** 

## **Order Of Business**

1	Acknowledgement of Country  Opening Declaration  Business Reports for Decision		. 3
2			3
3			
	3.1	Appointment of Temporary Chair	. 3
	3.2	Apologies and Leave of Absence	. 4
	3.3	Declaration of Conflict of Interest	. 4
	3.4	Outgoing Mayoral Speech	. 4
	3.5	Mayoral Term - 2017/18	. 4
	3.6	Election of Mayor - 2017/18	. 4
	3.7	Election of Deputy Mayor - 2017/18	. 5
	3.8	Incoming Mayoral Speech	. 6

# MINUTES OF GANNAWARRA SHIRE COUNCIL SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, KERANG ON WEDNESDAY, 8 NOVEMBER 2017 AT 9.00AM

PRESENT: Cr Brian Gibson, Cr Lorraine Learmonth, Cr Mark Arians, Cr Steven Tasker, Cr

Jodie Basile, Cr Sonia Wright, Cr Charlie Gillingham

IN ATTENDANCE: Eric Braslis - Chief Executive Officer, Tom O'Reilly - Director Corporate

Services, Geoff Rollinson – Director Infrastructure & Development, Narelle O'Donoghue – Acting Director Community Wellbeing, Lisa Clue – Manager

Governance

Gallery: 8 Media: 1

#### 1 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

Eric Braslis, Chief Executive Officer acknowledged the Traditional Custodians of the land, and paid his respect to elders both past and present.

#### 2 OPENING DECLARATION

The Councillors read the Opening Declaration.

#### 3 BUSINESS REPORTS FOR DECISION

#### 3.1 APPOINTMENT OF TEMPORARY CHAIR

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

To appoint a Temporary Chair for the Special Council Meeting for the Election of the Mayor.

#### **RESOLUTION**

Moved: Cr Mark Arians

Seconded: Cr Lorraine Learmonth

That Cr Gillingham act as Temporary Chairperson to oversee:

- Nominated Term of the Mayor
- Nominations for the Election of the Mayor

**CARRIED** 

Cr Gillingham took the Chair.

#### 3.2 APOLOGIES AND LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Nil

#### 3.3 DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

Under section 79C of the *Local Government Act 1989* a Councillor does not have a conflict of interest if the matter relates to the election of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

#### 3.4 OUTGOING MAYORAL SPEECH

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

The 2016/17 Mayor to provide an overview of the year as the Mayor.

Cr Brian Gibson gave the outgoing Mayoral Speech.

#### 3.5 MAYORAL TERM - 2017/18

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

Under Section 71(2) of the *Local Government Act 1989*, before a Mayor is elected under section 71, the Council may resolve to elect a Mayor for a term of 2 years. If no decision is made, the term of the Mayor remains one year. Historically, this Council has elected a Mayor for a one year term only.

There was no resolution for a 2 year Mayoral term.

#### **3.6 ELECTION OF MAYOR - 2017/18**

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

To present to Council the information in relation to the election of the Mayor in accordance with the *Local Government Act 1989*. This report outlines the process and statutory requirements for the election of Mayor. The election of Mayor will take place as part of this report.

The temporary Chairperson, Cr Gillingham called for Nominations for the position of Mayor.

Cr Wright nominated Cr Arians for the position of Mayor, Cr Gillingham seconded the nomination. Cr Arians accepted the nomination.

Cr Basile nominated Cr Gibson for the position of Mayor, Cr Learmonth seconded the nomination. Cr Gibson accepted the nomination.

## Cr Arians addressed the Council Cr Gibson addressed the Council.

#### Voting

Temporary Chairperson, Cr Gillingham called for a show of hands for each candidate.

The votes recorded for each were:

Cr Arians – Three votes Cr Gibson – Four votes

Temporary Chairperson, Cr Gillingham declared Cr Gibson, Mayor of the Gannawarra Shire Council for 2017/18 and invited Mayor Gibson to come forward to don the Mayoral robes.

Temporary Chairperson, Cr Gillingham vacated the chair and Cr Gibson took the Chair as Mayor.

#### 3.7 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR - 2017/18

#### **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

To present to Council the information in relation to the election of the Deputy Mayor. If the Council resolves to appoint a Deputy Mayor, nominations will be sought, and will require a nominator and a seconder.

The Mayor called for Nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor.

Cr Basile nominated Cr Learmonth for the position of Deputy Mayor, Cr Tasker seconded the nomination.

Cr Learmonth accepted the nomination.

Cr Arians nominated Cr Gillingham for the position of Deputy Mayor, Cr Wright seconded the nomination.

Cr Gillingham accepted the nomination.

#### Voting

The Mayor called for a show of hands for each candidate.

The votes recorded for each were:

Cr Learmonth – Four votes

Cr Gillingham – Three votes

The Mayor declared Cr Learmonth Deputy Mayor for the Gannawarra Shire Council for 2017/18.

Cr Brian Gibson - Mayor

**CHAIRPERSON** 

### 3.8 INCOMING MAYORAL SPEECH

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY
The 2017/18 Mayor to provide an overview of the year ahead.
Mayor Gibson gave the Incoming Mayoral Speech.
Crs Arians, Learmonth, Tasker and Basile responded.
The Meeting closed at 9.34am.
The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at the Ordinary Meeting of the Gannawarra Shire Council held on 15 November 2017.