

Friday, 4 November 2016 5:30pm Kerang Council Chambers

MINUTES

Special Council Meeting

4 November 2016

Order Of Business

1	Opening of Meeting		
2	Acknowledgement of Country		
3	Opening Prayer		
4	Apologies		
5	Declaration of Conflict of Interest		
6	Oaths/Affirmations of Office and the Councillor Code of Conduct		
	6.1	Recording of Oaths and Affirmations of Office and the Councillor Code of Conduct	4
7	Business Reports for Decision		
	7.1	Appointment of Temporary Chair	5
	7.2	Mayoral Term - 2016/17	5
	7.3	Election of Mayor - 2016/17	6
	7.4	Election of Deputy Mayor - 2016/17	7
8	Mayoral Address		8
	8.1	Incoming Mayoral Address	8
9	Close of Meeting and Invitation to Civic Reception		

MINUTES OF GANNAWARRA SHIRE COUNCIL SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, KERANG ON FRIDAY, 4 NOVEMBER 2016 AT 5:30PM

PRESENT: Cr Brian Gibson, Cr Lorraine Learmonth, Cr Mark Arians, Cr Steven Tasker, Cr

Jodie Basile, Cr Sonia Wright, Cr Charlie Gillingham

IN ATTENDANCE: Eric Braslis - Chief Executive Officer, Geoff Rollinson - Director

Infrastructure and Development, Tom O'Reilly - Director Corporate Services, Mandy Hutchinson - Director Community Wellbeing, Kate Callow -

Administration Officer to CEO & Councillors.

Gallery: 50 (approx)

Media: 2

1 OPENING OF MEETING

Chief Executive Officer, Eric Braslis opened the meeting.

2 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

Local Elder, George McGee read the Acknowledgement of Country.

3 OPENING PRAYER

The CEO read the Opening Prayer.

4 APOLOGIES

Nil

5 DECLARATION OF CONFLICT OF INTEREST

Nil

6 OATHS/AFFIRMATIONS OF OFFICE AND THE COUNCILLOR CODE OF CONDUCT

6.1 RECORDING OF OATHS AND AFFIRMATIONS OF OFFICE AND THE COUNCILLOR CODE OF CONDUCT

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Under the Local Government Act 1989, a person elected to be a councillor is not capable of acting as a councillor until that person has taken the oath of office (or solemn affirmation instead of an oath) specified in the Act, read the Councillor Code of Conduct and, in accordance with the Act, made a declaration stating that they will abide by the Councillor Code of Conduct. The Code of Conduct is signed and dated before the Chief Executive Officer.

The oath of office must be made before the Chief Executive Officer, dated and signed before the Chief Executive Officer and recorded in the minutes of the Council.

Arising from the conduct of the 2016 election of Councillors for the Gannawarra Shire, the Returning Officer, Ms Mardi Messer, declared the following results:

Ward	Councillor
Avoca	Charlie Gillingham
Murray	Steven Tasker
Patchell	Mark Arians
	Jodie Basile
	Brian Gibson
Yarran	Lorraine Learmonth
	Sonia Wright

The Chief Executive Officer asked each Councillor Elect to come forward to read and sign the Oath/Affirmation and the Councillor Code of Conduct for incorporation in the minutes of this meeting in accordance with section 63(1) and 63(2)(c) of the Local Government Act 1989.

7 BUSINESS REPORTS FOR DECISION

7.1 APPOINTMENT OF TEMPORARY CHAIR

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

To appoint a Temporary Chair for the Special Council Meeting for the Election of the Mayor.

RESOLUTION

Moved: Cr Brian Gibson

Seconded: Cr Lorraine Learmonth

That Council nominate Eric Braslis, Chief Executive Officer to act as Temporary Chairperson to oversee:

- Nominated Term of the Mayor
- Nominations for the Election of the Mayor
- Nominations for the Election of the Deputy Mayor

CARRIED

7.2 MAYORAL TERM - 2016/17

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Section 71 of the Local Government Act 1989 provides that Council may elect a Mayor for a one or a two year period. Historically, this Council has elected a Mayor for a one year term only.

RESOLUTION

Moved: Cr Lorraine Learmonth

Seconded: Cr Brian Gibson

That Council confirms that the Mayoral term for 2016/17 is for a period of one year.

CARRIED

7.3 **ELECTION OF MAYOR - 2016/17**

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

To present to Council the information in relation to the election of the Mayor in accordance with the Local Government Act 1989. This report outlines the process and statutory requirements for the election of Mayor. The election of Mayor will take place as part of this report.

RESOLUTION

Moved: Cr Mark Arians Seconded: Cr Jodie Basile

That Council:

- 1. Elect Cr Brian Gibson as Mayor for 2016/17 in accordance with Sections 71 and 72 of the Local Government Act 1989.
- 2. Suspend Standing Orders to 'Robe' the Mayor once the election has been completed.

ELECTION OF THE MAYOR

The temporary Chairperson, Eric Braslis called for Nominations for the position of Mayor.

Cr Arians nominated Cr Gibson for the position of Mayor and was seconded by Cr Basile Cr Gibson accepted the nomination.

Cr Gillingham nominated Cr Learmonth for the position of Mayor and was seconded by Cr Tasker. Cr Learmonth accepted the nomination.

Ater the nominations were received both Councillors nominated spoke as outlined below:

Cr Gibson addressed the Council

Cr Learmonth addressed the Council.

Voting

Eric Braslis, Temporary Chair called for a show of hands for Cr Gibson and Cr Learmonth.

Votes for Cr Gibson

- 1. Cr Gibson
- 2. Cr Arians
- 3. Cr Basile
- 4. Cr Wright

Votes for Learmonth

- 1. Cr Learmonth
- 2. Cr Gillingham

3. Cr Tasker

Cr Gibson was declared Mayor for the Gannawarra Shire Council for 2016/17.

INSTALLATION OF MAYOR

The Chief Executive Officer welcomed the elected Mayor, to the position as leader of the Council and called for Youth Council Mayor, Mikayla Penrose to robe the Mayor. The Mayor then resumed the Chair.

CARRIED

7.4 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR - 2016/17

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

To present to Council the information in relation to the election of the Deputy Mayor. If the Council resolves to appoint a Deputy Mayor, nominations will be sought, and will require a nominator and a seconder.

RESOLUTION

Moved: Cr Lorraine Learmonth Seconded: Cr Steven Tasker

That Council:

- 1. Elect Cr Charlie Gillingham as Deputy Mayor in accordance with Local Law No. 7 (2011) Meetings and Common Seal.
- 2. The term of the Deputy Mayor shall coincide with the agreed term of the elected Mayor.

ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor called for Nominations for the position of Deputy Mayor.

Cr Learmonth nominated Cr Gillingham for the position of Deputy Mayor and was seconded by Cr Tasker. Cr Gillingham accepted the nomination.

No further nominations were called.

CARRIED

8 MAYORAL ADDRESS

8.1 INCOMING MAYORAL ADDRESS

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

The Mayor addressed the meeting and invited other Councillors to respond.

9 CLOSE OF MEETING AND INVITATION TO CIVIC RECEPTION

The mayor closed the meeting and invited all present to join the Councillors in celebration.

The Meeting closed at 5:52pm.

The minutes of this meeting were confirmed at the Ordinary Meeting of the Gannawarra Shire Council held on 16 November 2016.

May	Mayor – Brian Gibson		
	CHAIRPERSON		